First order: 30 days from delivery Free UK standard delivery Made in the UK 0% nicotine · 0mg melatonin

Workshop · 11 Sep 2026

Zyn vs Velo vs Nordic Spirit: what is actually different

The three biggest UK pouch brands compared on the only things you can actually check: strength, count and price. Figures from each brand's own site, dated.

About this comparison: kip sells nicotine-free, tobacco-free food supplement pouches. We do not sell ZYN, VELO, Nordic Spirit or any nicotine or tobacco products. The dated information below is an editorial comparison of different products, not a nicotine-product offer.

If you use pouches, you have probably stood in a shop trying to work out what the difference is between a Zyn 6mg, a Velo 6mg and a Nordic Spirit Regular. The cans look similar, the prices are nearly identical, and the numbers on the front don't quite line up between brands.

This is the comparison we wanted when we started making kip. It sticks to the things you can check: strength per pouch, pouches per can, and price. Every figure comes from the brand's own UK website, checked on 11 September 2026. Where a brand doesn't publish a number, the table says so rather than guessing.

What does the mg on the can actually mean?

The number is milligrams of nicotine per pouch, not per can. A "6mg" Zyn and a "6mg" Velo both contain six milligrams of nicotine in each pouch. The confusion comes from the names: Zyn calls 9mg "Strong", Nordic Spirit calls 9mg "Strong", but Velo doesn't use strength names on its UK cans at all, only the number. So compare the number, not the word.

Pouch size matters too. "Mini" pouches are physically smaller and sit less obviously under the lip. "Slim" or "Standard" pouches are the normal size. The mini formats tend to carry the lower strengths.

Zyn vs Velo vs Nordic Spirit, side by side

Brand Format Nicotine per pouch Pouches per can Single-can price Per pouch
Zyn Mini X-Low 1.5mg 10 £2.99 30p
Zyn Mini 3mg, 6mg 20 £6.50 33p
Zyn Regular (Slim) 9mg, 11mg, 13.5mg, 16.5mg 20 £6.50 33p
Velo Mini 4mg, 6mg not stated on velo.com £5.00
Velo Slim 6mg, 8mg, 10mg, 11mg, 14mg, 17mg not stated on velo.com £6.50
Nordic Spirit Mini (Mellow) 4mg not stated on the product page £4.50
Nordic Spirit Standard 6mg (Regular), 9mg (Strong), 11mg (X-Strong), 17mg (Max) 20 £6.50 33p

Prices are the single-can price on each brand's UK site on the date above. All three nicotine brands run multibuy and subscription discounts that take a can down to somewhere between £2.60 and £3.90 if you buy in bulk.

Which one is strongest?

Velo and Nordic Spirit both top out at 17mg. Zyn's strongest UK pouch is 16.5mg. At the other end, Zyn's Mini X-Low at 1.5mg is the lowest nicotine pouch any of the three sells, and it is the only one sold in a 10-pouch can.

Nicotine is a stimulant. That is not a comment on any brand, it is what the substance is, and it is the reason a lot of people who use pouches through the day treat the evening one differently. More on that below.

Is there any real difference in price?

Not on a single can. Zyn, Velo and Nordic Spirit all charge £6.50 for a standard can, which works out at about 33p a pouch where the count is published. The minis are cheaper per can but not always cheaper per pouch, because some mini cans hold fewer pouches. Where the difference shows up is in the bulk tiers, and all three run them.

Where does a nicotine-free pouch fit?

kip uses a similar oral pouch format but has different contents: it contains no nicotine or tobacco. It is a food supplement, not a nicotine-replacement medicine. If the format itself is new to you, nicotine-free pouches, explained covers the basics.

The habit is the same. Pouch under the lip, 30 to 45 minutes, bin it. What changes is the 0mg. There is no nicotine in kip and no melatonin either, which matters in the UK because melatonin is a prescription-only medicine here, so you will not find it in a legally sold food supplement.

What kip does contain is printed on the tin, per pouch:

  • L-theanine, 100mg. An amino acid found in tea leaves.
  • Chamomile extract, 60mg, standardised to 1.2% apigenin.
  • Lemon balm extract 10:1, 40mg.
  • Magnesium bisglycinate, 20mg. Listed as an ingredient; no claim is made for it.
  • Vitamin B6, 0.7mg, which is 50% of the nutrient reference value. Vitamin B6 contributes to the reduction of tiredness and fatigue and to normal psychological function.*

No nicotine, no melatonin, no caffeine, no sugar. Quiet Mint is the only flavour in the first run.

If you want the full label and the reasoning behind each dose, it is on the product page.

A note on the numbers

Every figure in the table was read off the brand's own UK site on 11 September 2026: zyn.com, velo.com and nordicspirit.co.uk. Strength ranges, can sizes and prices change, and brands add and drop flavours often, so treat this as a snapshot. If you spot something that has moved, email hello@haveakip.com and we will correct it.

*GB authorised health claim. Food supplements should not be used as a substitute for a varied, balanced diet and a healthy lifestyle. kip is for adults 18 and over. Not for use during pregnancy or breastfeeding without medical advice.

More from Workshop

All posts

11 Sep 20261 min read

What is actually in a nicotine pouch?

A pouch format does not tell you its contents. An ingredient comparison with kip, a nicotine-free, tobacco-free food supplement.

11 Sep 20261 min read

How kip is made

Developing kip with a UK factory: the formula, sample testing still in progress, and plans for the November 2026 first release.

Want the release notes?

Product updates and notes from the workshop. Signing up does not reserve a tin.